Lube Review: LifeStyles Natural Lubricant

LifeStyles Natural Lubricant is reputed to be an all-natural solution for those of you who have moisture issues. But as we sometimes find with all-natural products, sometimes there’s a reason we prefer less-than-natural ingredients.

lifestylesnatural

Condom Depot has done a nice little write-up about lube ingredients and I found all of the ingredients in this lube listed there. You can check it out if you’re interested, but the gist of what I discovered was that yes, the ingredients are natural. Does that mean you want them in your body? Maybe not, but that’s up to you.

Here’s an exact listing of the ingredients in this lube according to the label:

Di Water, Glycerin, Xanthan Gum (Corn Sugar Gum), Sodium Hyaluronate, Potassium Sorbate, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Chloride (Salt), May Contain: Citric Acid

For example, if you’ve had previous issues with glycerin causing yeast infections, than this lube isn’t for you. It has glycerin in it. In fact, it’s the second ingredient listed, which means there’s quite a bit of glycerin.

But if you haven’t? It’s otherwise a pretty body-friendly lube, made up of ingredients that are commonly found naturally. Although a lot of times, they’re synthesized too– not that that makes them worse. They’re still the same ingredients, and sometimes it’s easier/cheaper/less harmful to the environment to make them synthetically. This lube doesn’t have an organic seal of approval that I know of (unlike Blossom Organics), but it runs pretty close.

So, on to the lube itself.

You know I’m a giant bottle nerd. And this lube has a really cool bottle. I mean, it has an O-ring and a concave shape for safe carrying when your hands are all lubed up. An O-ring! At 3.5 oz (100 ml) for $7.99, it’s one of the best lube bottles I think I’ve ever come across (haha) with an easy to lift notch from which to pour the lube.

But there is one giant downfall to this lubricant: the tackiness. One review I read on another site put it pretty succinctly, “You could use this for model glue.” That’s sadly accurate.

mFInkbE

“Oh no! I’m out of glue. What do I have lying around that I could use instead?”

It doesn’t start off that way. In fact, when you first apply, it’s just as slick and slippery as you’d want a lube to be. But it doesn’t last.

Such stickiness is only fixed by adding more lube, which, as is the natural cycle, creates even more stickiness. And that was no bueno for this lube-aficionado. I’m more of a one-time applier, which is why I love silicone-based lubes (like WET Naturals Silky Supreme) so much.

For oral though, this lube was pretty decent. It has a slightly sweet taste– barely noticeable, which makes it great if you enjoy your partner’s natural taste, and not at all invasive. There’s no smell, either.

Due to the tackiness, I would 100% not recommend this lubricant for anal sex. It will dry up far too quickly. And no one likes a tacky booty. Try one of those listed on our Five Best Anal Lubes and Sprays list instead.

Overall Rating: 2 Stars

Final Verdict:

I wanted to like this lube. I really, truly did– the natural label and the sweet bottle design made me a fan before I even popped the lid. But with the glycerin issue and the supreme tackiness? LifeStyles Natural Lubricant just wasn’t for me. But give it a shot. Maybe it’ll work better for you.

[Image via rgbstock.]

Leave a comment