Toy Cleaner Review: Berman Center Toy Cleaner

The Dr. Laura Berman Center has a reputation for excellence when it comes to vaginal health and high-quality products. And the Berman Center Toy Cleaner made our list of Best Sex Toy Cleaners for a reason.

bermanredoheader

This 6.28 fl. oz./185.72 mL bottle is one of the most discreet-looking sex toy cleaners that I have ever seen. It looks like some kind of salon-quality hair product. I would feel comfortable leaving this out on my sink when my parents were over, so long as they didn’t look too closely at the nearly-invisible words, “Toy Cleaner,” and, “Intimate Basics.” You may not have a need for such discretion (or you may have a good place in your drawer for this bottle), but it’s always a nice touch.

And if the words above seem a little blaring, that’s just a marketing image. The actual bottle will look more like this:

Bermancenterfeatured

So you can see how discreet it is.

There’s a slight scent to this cleaner. Since there is no fragrance listed on the ingredients listing, I wasn’t too concerned. It’s more of a clean scent than a perfume.

Our description on Spicy Gear says that this cleaner uses Triclosan. Triclosan is an antibacterial agent found in a lot of soaps and other cleaners. It was considered body friendly, but the FDA is currently reviewing how safe it is to use on humans after tests showed that it could alter hormone production in animals.

Screen Shot 2015-03-25 at 11.46.56 AM

The bottle of Berman Center Toy Cleaner that I have right in front of me does not have Triclosan listed on its ingredients, so I don’t know if the Berman Center decided to change their ingredients. Their ingredient list was also lacking in alcohol and glycerin, both of which are pretty common in toy cleaners.

And speaking of ingredients, their list had me a little nervous at first:

  • Water
  • Cocamidopropyl Betaine (can cause dermatitis and skin irritation)
  • Benzalkonium chloride (an antiseptic which can cause irritation in the skin and eyes)
  • Phenoxyethanol (a preservative found in many soaps and fragrances that can cause irritation or dermatitis on the skin)

As you may know from some of my other articles, I have very sensitive skin. I am kind of a litmus test at the Spicy Gear offices— I have had allergic reaction to hypoallergenic Aveeno. Ingredients in soaps causing irritation are nothing new– especially if you’re like me.

So just to try it, I sprayed my toys down with this and then rinsed them off and had no issue when using them again. As long as you aren’t applying the spray directly to your skin, it shouldn’t be a problem. Just be sure to rinse. I also tested it on my skin to see if I had a reaction, and I didn’t. So most likely, those these chemicals can be an irritant on their own, there’s so very little of them in this product, they won’t do any harm.

Now, I wouldn’t spay it directly on my vulva or into my vagina. It’s not supposed to be use for that reason, and doing so might cause a negative reaction, just like douching.

I personally tested this on toys made of glass, TPR, and elastomere. None of them suffered any adverse effects from these ingredients, and all of them turned out sparkling clean even after the most vigorous of play.

bermancenterbuynowOverall Rating: 4 Stars

Final Verdict:

The Berman Center’s Toy Cleaner did the job that it needed to do. It kept my toy clean, and it didn’t irritate me when I was done. It’s safe to use on all toy materials and though the ingredients may be too irritating for direct skin-on-skin contact, rinsing your toys with hot water after application will keep you safe.

Leave a Reply

