Lube Review: ID Glide

To boil it down to the essence of my experience, water-based ID Glide is my least favorite in the otherwise fantastic line of ID lubes. How disappointing.

idglidefullweb

Not only does this top selling lube contain both glycerin and glycol (sugars), they also threw some parabens in there. Here’s a big ol’ sarcastic, “Hip hip hooray!” for those sweet ingredients, ID. The naturally occurring yeast in my vagina just loved all the extra food you provided. In fact, directly after using this lube, I happened to get a raging yeast infection, which is not common for me. Coincidence? Perhaps. Perhaps not.

Thanks for the yeast buffet, ID! The makers of Monistat sure do appreciate it!

Here are all of the ingredients found in this personal lubricant:

Water/Aqua/Eau, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Cellulose Gum, EDTA, Carbomer, PEG-90M, Tetrahydroxypropyl Ethylenediamine, Methylparaben, Sodium Benzoate and Potassium Sorbate.

As you can tell, there aren’t a whole lot of recognizable or natural elements in this ID Glide formula, as opposed to ID Millennium, which is silicone-based and only contains 3 simple and body-safe ingredients:

  Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone and Dimethiconol.

Read my rave review on ID Millennium lube here.

idmel (1)

The nicest thing about ID Glide is that is both condom compatible and is safe for use with all toys. As a condom, dental dam, sex toy and dildo lover, I simply can’t argue with those great traits. I also admire the fact that this lube is uncolored, unflavored and unscented, which I’m guessing is why they claim this lube is good for sensitive skin and is hypoallergenic. It’s also nonstaining, so it’s an easy clean up both from the body and from any fabrics that were involved.

Additionally, as a former factory worker, I’m a huge fan of supporting sex products which are made in America, as I mentioned in my iLube by Doc Johnson review, and this one certainly fits the bill. ID Glide comes to us fresh from the Westridge Laboratories in Santa Ana, California, which opened its doors in 1993.

Furthermore, I definitely dig the one handed application capabilities that the bottle design provides. I also find it to be nice that the bottle and cap are fully recyclable. The price is also fairly reasonable. I used the 4.4 oz bottle, which was moderately priced at around ten dollars. It also comes in a larger size of 8.5 oz, which is a better value at around fifteen bucks.

ID Glide? More like ID Dried.

ID Glide? More like ID Dried.

Unfortunately, much like my testing of Pjur BodyGlide Woman, this lube did not provide nearly enough lubrication to do anyone any good. I was instantly dry. I was even drier than I had been before using it, much like the soaring highs and rock bottom lows of a caffeine crash. My partner (who has a penis) observed an almost instantaneous stickiness upon application. Can’t say he was jumping for joy over this product, and neither was I.

In their own defense, ID does state that you can reactivate this lube by adding a drop of water to it. I’m sorry, but if I have to add water to a lube, it’s not a high-quality lube. It should be good to go, right from the bottle to my body with no extra additions needed.

IDGlidebuynow

Overall Rating: 2 Stars

Final Verdict:

ID Glide is way better than nothing at all, and it didn’t burn me like some warming lubes do, but you’d be better off with a longer lasting and more vagina-friendly water-based lube like Spicy Gear Girl’s fav– Pjur Woman Aqua.

Leave a Reply

